FINAL FANTASY XI
Top - FAQ Search - FAQ Detail
Knowledge Base Search

KB Article: 78033
KB Category: [In-Game/Game Contents]
KB Sub-category: [ In-Game/Contents]

Regarding the World Transfer Service

The World Transfer Service includes a number of conditions and restrictions that may affect your experience. Please feel free to review any of this information if you have any questions about what game services are affected by the World Transfer Service. Please also feel free to check the following link for more information: http://www.playonline.com/ff11us/intro/optional/wd_transfer01.html

[How to apply for the World Transfer Service]
Players can apply for a World transfer on the SQUARE ENIX Account Management website (https://secure.square-enix.com) by logging in, proceeding to the FINAL FANTASY XI landing, choosing the 'Options List' for the PlayOnline ID associated with your characters, and then selecting the 'World Transfer' option. Follow the instructions on screen to complete the World transfer process.

[Equipment Inscriptions]
When performing a World Transfer, all equipment and items will be transferred with their inscriptions intact as long as they are not in the Delivery Box or Auction House.

Note: ALL items in the Delivery Box or Auction House are lost at the time of World Transfer, regardless of whether they have inscriptions or not.
 
[Impact on chocobo raising]
Chocobos raised and associated data will be transferred when utilizing the World Transfer Service.

[Impact on gardening]
Plants being gardened and items being harvested will be transferred when receiving a "World Transfer" service.
 
[Finding out which World a friend has transferred to]
If a character has transferred to another World, is on your friend list, and is online, the name of the World will appear next to the character's handle name. We cannot share information about the whereabouts of transferred characters.
 
[Maximum number of characters that can be transferred to a World]
There is no limit to the number of characters that can transfer to a World. However, depending on World population, it is possible that we may split or combine Worlds as necessary.

[Conquest points and mission ranks]
Conquest points, imperial standing, mission rank, teleport services, and quest lists for completed and offered quests are all transferred when performing a World Transfer.

[How long does it take for a character to move to a destination World?]
After the World transfer process is done, the characters may be transferred immediately, but it is also possible that it may take up to 24 hours. If your character has not been transferred after 24 hours, feel free to contact the SQUARE ENIX Support Center for additional assistance.

[I moved to another World with items in the Auction House! Where’d they go?]
Items up for sale in the Auction House are deleted automatically during the World transfer process. As such, any items left in the delivery box will be lost permanently.
Please make sure to place these items in the character's inventory, Mog Safe, Mog Storage or Mog Locker before initiating the World transfer.
If you have sent items in the old World, they will be deleted by the recipient when they attempt to redeem them from the Mog Delivery box.

[I moved to another World with items in my delivery box!]
Similarly to the Auction House, items in the Mog House delivery box are deleted automatically during the World transfer process. As such, any items left in the box will be lost to the character.
Please make sure to place these items in the character's inventory, Mog Safe, Mog Storage or Mog Locker before the transfer date.
If you have sent items in the old World, they will be deleted by the recipient when they attempt to redeem them from the Mog Delivery box.
 
[Transferring each character to a different World from one another]
If attempting to transfer multiple characters to multiple Worlds in one transfer, each individual character can be moved to the World of your choice when you initiate a World transfer.

[I forgot to transfer a character! Can you help?]
After the day of the transfer request, please contact the SQUARE ENIX Support Center by selecting "Additional Assistance" button located at the bottom of this Knowledge Base article. An additional World transfer request may be processed at the SQUARE ENIX Support Center's discretion.
 
[Moving to another World within the 3-day period]
World transfers can only be performed once in a 72 hour period. If you would like to move to a different World, you will need to wait at least 72 hours before you will be able to submit another request.
 
[I want to move to another World but I don't want to change my linkshell name.]
During the World transfer process, any linkshell a character currently possesses is deleted and replaced with an unused linkshell. After the transfer process, it will be necessary to create a new linkshell. It may be possible to use the same linkshell name as long as it is not currently in use on the destination World.

[Returning to the previous World]
After the World transfer has been completed, we will be unable to return the characters to the previous World manually. If you wish to return to the previous World, you will need to submit another World transfer request after the 3-day waiting period has passed.

[I transferred to the wrong World!]
If you mistakenly chose the wrong World during the World transfer process, you will need to submit another World transfer request after 3 days. We apologize for the inconvenience, but we are unable to move characters from a mistakenly selected World. 

[Being asked to change character's name after World transfer]
This will occur if a character with the same name as the character you transferred exists on the destination World. Once a World Transfer request has been completed, it cannot be reversed or refunded.
 
[Can I see if my name is in use on the destination World?]
Unfortunately, it is impossible to see beforehand whether a name change will be necessary. If you are prompted for a name change, the name is already in use. Keep in mind, name changes will not delete Friend List data, so friends will still be able to locate one another via the PlayOnline Viewer.

[I am unable to select the World I want to move to]
The desired World may have reached maximum capacity, or the World Transfer Service may be temporarily unavailable. In either case, feel free to retry after a short period of time, or select another World to transfer to. Please check the Information section of the official FINAL FANTASY XI website for additional details.

[Sprout Beret and Guide Beret after World transfer]
While these items can still be equipped, they will not take effect unless both players (the recruiter and the recruited) transfer to the same World.

[Someone I introduced to the game is now on a different World]
When characters are on different Worlds, they cannot form parties with each other, so they cannot receive the effects of special items such as the Sprout Beret.

[I paid for the World Transfer Service, but my character has not been transferred yet.]
If you are experiencing this issue, please send an inquiry through the SQUARE ENIX Support Center by going to the FINAL FANTASY XI title page, locating the appropriate Knowledge Base article, select "Additional Assistance," then select "Next," then select "Next," then choose a contact method.