FINAL FANTASY XI
Top - FAQ Search - FAQ Detail
Knowledge Base Search

KB Article: 78031
KB Category: [In-Game/Game Contents]
KB Sub-category: [Character Revival]

Regarding Character Reactivation

The Character Reactivation Service has been implemented in order to assist users whose FINAL FANTASY XI character data has been deleted, regardless of the circumstances. There are numerous conditions and limitations for the service that can be found on the Character Reactivation Service Guidelines page. Here is a list of quick responses to some frequently asked questions regarding the service:

Who is eligible for the Character Reactivation Service?
The Character Reactivation Service is geared toward users whose FINAL FANTASY XI character data has been deleted, regardless of the circumstances. Please note, users are only able to utilize this service once per account. 

You are not eligible for this service if any of the following apply:
- You canceled your PlayOnline membership, but have never obtained a FINAL FANTASY XI Content ID.
- Your membership was revoked due to violations of the user agreements, delinquent payments, or other reasons.
- You are currently playing the 14-day Free Trial. 

Do I need to transfer my PlayOnline ID to a SQUARE ENIX Account in order to apply for the Character Reactivation Service?
Yes. Please ensure you transfer your PlayOnline ID to a SQUARE ENIX Account before applying for the Character Reactivation Service. 

Please click here http://support.na.square-enix.com/faqarticle.php?kid=59527&id=20&la=1 to see further information about the SQUARE ENIX Account transfer process.

In what state will the character be reactivated?
Character data, such as status and inventory items, will be restored to the same state as it was at the time of cancellation or deletion. Please note that items placed in delivery boxes and Auction Houses at the time of cancellation cannot be restored. Unfortunately, SQUARE ENIX cannot guarantee that character data will be restored to a state desired by the applicant.

Is it possible to modify the character data with the Character Reactivation Service?
Unfortunately, character data cannot be modified with the Character Reactivation Service. Character data such as status and inventory items will be restored to the same state as it was at the time of cancellation or deletion. However, if a character with the same name already exists in the World that your character is to be reactivated in, you must rename your character when you log into FINAL FANTASY XI.

Can deleted characters be reactivated on a different FINAL FANTASY XI service account?
Unfortunately, characters cannot be reactivated on a different FINAL FANTASY XI service account (PlayOnline ID).

Can I select which World I want my character reactivated in?
Unfortunately, characters are automatically reactivated into the Worlds they were in prior to cancellation. Any characters deleted on one of the merged Worlds will be reactivated on the destination World.

Is there a limit to the number of times I can use the Character Reactivation Service?
No, you can apply for the service as many times as you would like, but we can only reactivate characters if we're able to recover the data.

Can I still apply for the Character Reactivation Service if my FINAL FANTASY XI service account is currently canceled?
Yes. Please note that characters that appear under the options list have not been deleted and therefore cannot be reactivated through the Character Reactivation Service. If a character appears under the options list, they can be reactivated simply by reactivating the corresponding recurring option. 

Please confirm whether or not the character appears under the options list prior to applying for the Character Reactivation Service.

I created a new character with the same name as a character I had previously deleted. Can the previous character be reactivated?
Yes, as long as the character data is available. However, if a character with the same name already exists on the World your character is restored to, you will need to rename your character after reactivation.